The Changes Book Prize

Established in 2022, the Changes Book Prize awards $10,000 and publication to the author of a first or second collection of poems. The winning poet receives a generous publishing contract, national distribution, extensive publicity, and a book launch event in New York City.

Submissions open Sept 1 – Nov 1, 2023

Sign up for alerts about the prize

2022-2023 Judge: Louise Glück

Louise Glück is the author of thirteen books of poetry and two collections of essays. She has received many honors for her work, including the Nobel Prize in Literature, Pulitzer Prize, National Book Award, National Book Critics Circle Award, Bollingen Prize, Wallace Stevens Award, Lannan Literary Award, National Humanities Medal, and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. She judged the Yale Series of Younger Poets Prize from 2003-2010 and was Poet Laureate of the United States from 2003-2004. She teaches at Stanford University’s Wallace Stegner Fellowship Program.

First Readers: Aria Aber, Bennet Bergman, Kyle Dacuyan, Jameson Fitzpatrick & Sandra Lim

Contest Guidelines


  1. The Changes Book Prize is open to residents of the United States who have not published (or committed to publishing) more than one book-length collection of poetry with a registered ISBN.
  2. Submissions for the 2024 competition must be submitted no earlier than September 1, 2023 and no later than November 1, 2023 at 11:59 pm EST.
  3. Current or former students, colleagues, employees, family members, and close friends of the judge are not eligible for the prize.

Standards & Commitments

  1. From year to year, The Changes Book Prize book series aims to reflect the variousness of what is possible in poetry. To that end, we are committed to publishing work from the widest possible range of practices and perspectives.
  2. Criteria for selecting a winning manuscript are broad; the judge and first readers do not screen submissions with a preference for any particular “style” or type of poetry, and emphatically are not looking for work that bears an affinity to their own.
  3. The Changes Book Prize is administered in accordance with the Code of Ethics developed by the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP). The judge will use an anonymous review process to select the winning manuscript.

Submission Guidelines

  1. Submissions must be original poetry manuscripts written in the English language. Poems published in print or online periodicals, anthologies, or chapbooks may be included, but the manuscript itself must be unpublished. Translations and works by multiple authors are not accepted.
  2. Manuscripts must be a minimum of 48 numbered pages and a maximum of 80 numbered pages in length, including the title page and table of contents. All manuscripts must be paginated. Each new poem must start on a new page.
  3. Manuscripts should be formatted using a standard typeface in 12-point font. Manuscripts may be single-spaced, 1.5-spaced, or double-spaced.
  4. Upload your manuscript as a .doc, .docx, or .pdf file. Include a title page with the title only and a table of contents. Author’s name should not appear on any pages within the uploaded document.
  5. Where indicated on Submittable, include a brief bio (no more than 200 words) and a list of acknowledgments of previously published poems. Do not include acknowledgements, biographical information, or any other cover letter within the document of the manuscript.
  6. Submitting more than one manuscript to the prize is not allowed. Manuscripts that do not adhere to submission guidelines will not be considered.
  7. Revisions or corrections are not permitted once your manuscript has been submitted. The prizewinner will have an opportunity to edit their manuscript prior to publication.
  8. You may simultaneously submit your manuscript elsewhere, but please notify us immediately if it is accepted for publication.
  9. The Changes Book Prize reserves the right of the judge to not choose a winner for any given year of the competition.

Submissions are now closed