Winners of the 2023 Changes Book Prize

With gratitude to all who submitted, the editors are delighted to announce the results of our second annual book prize, judged by Nobel Laureate Louise Glück. We were amazed at the variety and caliber of the manuscripts we read and have decided to expand the prize accordingly, naming two additional winners for this year’s competition alongside the judge’s selection. Each poet will be awarded $10,000 and publication in 2024.

A Night in the Country
by Laura Newbern

foreword by Louise Glück

by Jimin Seo

foreword by Kyle Dacuyan

Not Us Now
by Zoë Hitzig

foreword by Srikanth Reddy

About the Prizewinners

Laura Newbern is the author of Love and the Eye, selected by Claudia Rankine for the Kore Press First Book Award, and the recipient of a Writer’s Award from the Rona Jaffe Foundation. She lives in Georgia, where she teaches at Georgia College and edits the journal Arts & Letters.

Jimin Seo was born in Seoul, Korea. He immigrated to the US to join his family at the age of eight and was raised in North Florida. He currently lives in New York City, where he is an adjunct lecturer and personal trainer.

Zoë Hitzig is the author of Mezzanine (Ecco, 2020) and a PhD candidate in economics at Harvard. She currently serves as poetry editor of The Drift.


We received nearly 1,200 submissions to this year’s competition, and we are grateful for the opportunity to have read so many vibrant manuscripts. Among them, the following were finalists for this year’s prize:

Please join us in congratulating this year’s winner and finalists!