Announcing the Winner of the 2022 Changes Book Prize

With gratitude to all who submitted, we are delighted to announce that Rachel Mannheimer’s EARTH ROOM is the winner of the 2022 Changes Book Prize competition, selected by judge Louise Glück. Earth Room will be the first book in the Changes Book Prize series and will be published in the spring of 2022.

Rachel Mannheimer was born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska. She earned her MFA at NYU, was a Visiting Fellow at the Global Research Institute at NYU Berlin, and has received additional support from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Vermont Studio Center, and the Studios at MASS MoCA. She lives in New York’s Hudson Valley, where she works as a literary scout and as a senior editor for The Yale Review.

We received nearly 1,300 submissions to our first annual poetry contest, and we are grateful for the opportunity to have read so many vibrant manuscripts. Among them, the following were finalists for this year’s prize:

  • Judas Goat by Gabrielle Bates
  • We Sailed on the Lake by Bill Carty
  • The Palace of Forty Pillars by Armen Davoudian
  • The Past Like the Border is Its Own Country by Gabriel Dozal
  • A Travel Guide For The Exiled by Zein El-Amine
  • Transsexual Voice Contusion by Stephen Ira
  • All Empires Must by Mia Kang
  • Nomenclature by Mihee Kim
  • Exit Music by Dave Lucas
  • Asterism by Ae Hee Lee
  • A Night in the Country by Laura Newbern
  • Each Peach by Liam O’Brien
  • Customary Calculus for Chronicity by Theri Pickens
  • New Jerusalem by Edward Salem
  • In Free Time by Ariel Yelen

Congratulations to this year’s winner and finalists!